This Toilet Tuesday (5/1/18)


TOILET. TUESDAY. I’ve gathered up all the new music I could find this week and presented it here for your perusal. We’ve highlighted a couple standouts, but as usual, be sure to hit the full list for more solid jams.

Voidthrone – Kur (Independent) [Dissonant Black Metal]
Listen to “Kur”

It feels like it’s been a bit since we got some new dissonance this year, but Voidthrone scratches that itch really hard. And it’s some truly nasty dissonance, too; they pile on layers of clashing notes and horizontal chromatic lines, and the grating tone and abrasive vocals make it that much harsher. There’s also a fair amount of more traditional black metal riffing in here as well, giving you the best of both worlds. 5/4/18 (Spear)

Dwarrowdelf – The Sons of Fëanor (Wolfspell Records) [Melodic Black Metal]

If you’re wasting away waiting for new Caladan Brood and you’ve already burned yourself out on the latest Summoning, I would like to present Dwarrowdelf for your consideration. The synths might not be quite as grandiose as the former and the overall sound isn’t quite as refined as the latter, but the guitar work is excellent and the clean vocals are solid. There are also a couple speedy tunes present, which was a welcome surprise (“Amras” in particular has some sweet riffage). While there aren’t a ton of new ideas present here, there are enough to keep Dwarrowdelf feeling distinctive and fresh. The Sons of Fëanor is a no-brainer for anyone into this style of black metal, more than worthy of the “epic” moniker. 4/30/18 (Spear)

Abigail/Tractor – 乱心肉獄 (split- Thrashing Cult Records) [Black Metal/Heavy Metal]

Advent of Bedlam – Human Portal Phenomenon (Horror Pain Gore Death) [Tech Death]
Listen to “A Human Farm”

Angelus Apatrida – Cabaret de la Guillotine (Century Media Records) [Thrash]
Listen to “Sharpen the Guillotine”

Archelon – Tribe of Suns (Sludgelord Records) [Sludge]
Mini Review

AxMinister – The Crucible of Sin (Independent) [Thrash]

Beyond Shadows – Escape from Reality (Invasion of Solitude Records) [Melodeath]

Blackslash – Lightning Strikes Again (Iron Shield/Pure Steel) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Eyes of a Stranger”

Boghaunter – Writhe (Seeing Red Records) [Doom]

Bong – Thought and Existence (Ritual Productions) [Stoner Doom]

Burden of Grief – Eye of the Storm (Massacre Records) [Melodeath]
Listen to “Eye of the Storm”

Concrete Age – The Totem of the Great Snake Pt.II: Covenant (Independent) [Death Metal]

Cryptworm – Verminosis (Me Saco Un Ojo Records) [Death Metal]

Darkened Winter – Hel (Independent) [lolbuttz]
Listen to “Mourning Star”

Dark Priest – Lucifuge 414 (Satanica Productions) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Demonic Dimsensions”

Deathmace – Bleeding Frenzy (Independent) [Death Metal]
Listen to “Swine”

Demonstealer – The Last Reptilian Warrior (Independent) [Techish Death Metal]
Listen to “The Grand Collapse of Humanity”

Depravity – Evil Upheaval (Transcending Obscurity) [Death Metal]

Dimmu Borgir – Eonian (Nuclear Blast Records) [Symphonic Blah Metal]
Listen to “Interdimensional Summit”
Video Breakdown

Drakon – Fire Walk with Me (Via Nocturna) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Ghosts in the Northern Fog”

Dystersol – The Fifth Age of Man (Wormholedeath) [Melodeath]
Listen to “Down to Nothing,” “Olimpia”

Extremity Obsession – Anthropocentric Era Vol. I (Independent) [Death Thrash]

Fading Bliss – Journeys in Solitude (Malpermesita Records) [Doom]
Listen to “Ocean”

Fear of Domination – Metanoia (Ranka Kustannus) [Industrial Melodeath]
Listen to “The Last Call”

Grailknights – Knightfall (Intono Records) [Power Metal]
Listen to “Pumping Iron Power”

Grimorium Verum – Revenant (Symbol of Domination/Cimmerian Shade) [Symphonic Black Metal]
Listen to “The Circus of the Dark Illusion”

Hate Beyond – Ruthless Aggression (Rubicon Music) [Death Metal]

High Council – Held in Contempt (Via Nocturna) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Congress With the Beast”

Hizha – Desolate Marshlands (Cvlminis) [Black Metal]

Ihsahn – Àmr (Candlelight Records) [Prog Metal]
Listen to “Arcana Imperii”

Intent – Vox Populi (Dirty Needle Records) [Thrash]
Listen to “Network Failure”

Iron Angel – Hellbound (Mighty Music) [Speed Metal]
Listen to “Ministry of Metal,” “The Unnamed One”

Kalmankantaja/Iku-Turso – Ikuinen tuli (split- Wolfspell Records) [Black Metal]

Katari – Ave, Rex Ivdaeorvm! (From Deepest Records) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Black Metal Thorns”

Kyterion – Inferno II (Subsound Records) [Black Metal]

Lik – Carnage (Metal Blade Records) [Death Metal]

Monsterworks – Scale and Probability (Independent) [Post/Prog/Death]

Nebelwind – Wege (Wolfsmond Productions) [Black Metal]

Nekrokraft – Servants (The Sign Records) [Blackened Death Metal]

Nervewrecker – Murmur (Independent) [Sludge]
Listen to “Dejected”

Nocturnal Graves – Titan (Season of Mist) [Death Metal]

Nyctophilia – Kübler – Ross Model (Cvlminis) [Black Metal]

Omenfilth – Hymns of Diabolical Treachery (Nero One Records) [Black Metal]

Ommadon – End Times (Dry Cough/At War With False Noise/DGRecords/Medusa Crush) [Drone/Doom]

Panchrysia – Dogma (Satanath Records) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Kairos”

Raven Throne – I miortvym snicca zolak (Non Serviam Records) [Black Metal]

R.O.D. – #SocietyKill (Independent) [Thrash]
Listen to “March or Die”

Roman so Words – Roman’s (Independent) [Symphonic Power Metal]

Rotten Light – III: Downfall To Black Axis And Liturgy (Cvlminis) [Black Metal]

Ruach Raah – Under the Insignia of Baphomet (War Arts Productions) [Black Metal]

Skinned – Shadow Syndicate (Xenokorp) [Death Metal]
Listen to “We Are The End”

Spectrum Mortis – קדוש (BlackSeed Productions) [Blackened Death Metal]

Theotoxin – Consilivm (Massacre Records) [Blackened Death Metal]
Listen to “Chains of Hybris”

Thou – The House Primordial (Robotic Empire) [Angry Noises]

Thy Catafalque – Geometria (Season of Mist) [Progressive/Avant-Garde Metal]
Listen to “Szamojéd freskó”

Towards Atlantis Lights – Dust of Aeons (Transcending Obscurity) [Atmospheric Doom]

Trautionist – Ember (Wolves & Vibrancy Records) [Shoegaze]

Twilight – Trident Death Rattle (Ascension Monuments Media) [Black Metal]
Listen to “This Road South”

Uhrilahja – En fördärvad värld (Wolfspell Records) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Flesh Hook Rituals”

Unbirth – Fleshforged Columns of Deceit (Independent) [Brutal/Tech Death]

Unfragment – Tenace (Independent) [Death Metal]

Urskog – Evig vinter (Independent) [Melodeath?]

Vanagloria – Decadencia (Rock-CD Records) [Metalcore]
Listen to “Mundo Asesino”

Verilun – Through Fire… In the Sun (Sliptrick Records) [Death Metal]
Listen to “Upon the Mountain”

Whalesong – Disorder Deconstructed (Independent) [Industrial]

Wolvhammer – The Monuments of Ash & Bone (Blood Music) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Eternal Rotting Misery,” “Dead Rat, Rotting Raven”

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!