This Toilet Tuesday (3/15/22)


It is Toilet Tuesday, and oh boy, do we have some new music for you. It’s a densely-packed week for starters, and the recommendations we’ve got on deck are really exciting (to my poser-ass ears, anyway), but I also want to hear what all you’re looking forward to as well. Drop your picks in the comments for the stuff you’re planning to hit this week.

Hyperia – Silhouettes of Horror (Independent) [Thrash]

I have a long-running theory that any style of music can be immediately improved by making it just a little bit spookier, and Hyperia is the proof that it works for thrash. Regular thrash is all well and good, but add some spooky-ass melodies in there and it becomes instant Spear bait. The strings players are all on their A-game here, and there’s an inordinate amount of cool shit happening on the drums with regards to thrash, but the vocals are what hooked me off the bat. Marlee Ryley has a raw wail and a vicious scream that both play into this particular style extremely well, and it makes the whole package super enticing. 3/18/22 (Spear)

Iomair – Fishing for an Apparition (Independent) [Folk Metal]

It seems like you don’t get a ton of North American folk metal that actually uses North American folk music as a base (feel free to correct me if I’m wrong here or just drop some sweet recommendations in the comments), which is what drew me to Iomair. It’s highly melodic, lightly proggy in the capital-P “prog metal” sense, but the way they fuse the metal parts with bluegrass on “Gallows” is fantastic. I’m honestly shocked that this all works as well as it does, and I’ll likely be revisiting this for a full review upon release. 3/18/22 (Spear)

Achelous – The Icewind Chronicles (No Remorse Records) [Heavy/Power Metal]
Listen to “Flames of War”

Agathodaimon –  The Seven (Napalm Records) [Black Metal]

Aktarum – Trollvengers (Art Gates Records) [Folk Metal]
Listen to “TrollVengers”

Ancestral Sin – Social Hate Speech (Dance Hard Records) [Crossover Thrash]
Listen to “Why Do You Hate Me”

Angel of Suicide – Truth Doesn’t Hurt, It Kills (Independent) [DSBM]

Arcane Tales – Steel, Fire And Magic (Silverstream Records) [Power Metal]

Black Fucking Cancer – Procreate Inverse (Sentient Ruin) [Black Metal]

Blazemth – The Return of Lucifer (Xtreem Music) [Black Metal]

Bury Them and Keep Quiet – Eternal Transience of Being (Independent) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Sunyata”

Chemicide – Common Sense (Independent) [Thrash]

Cincinatti Bowtie – The Harvest of Tellus (Independent) [Deathcore]

Cult of the Night – Dance of the Witches (Independent) [Heavy Metal]

Dark Funeral – We Are the Apocalypse (Century Media) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Leviathan”

Dawn of Ashes – Scars of the Broken (Artoffact Records) [Industrial]

Demon Mörder – Within the Rust and Chaos (Independent) [Black Thrash]

Di’Aul Abracamacabra – (Argonauta Records) [Stoner Doom]
Listen to “Thou Crawl”

Divided by Design – Irretraceable Steps (Independent) [Prog Metal]

Dream Master – A World Without People (Independent) [lolbuttz]
Listen to “Mental Breakdown”

Eldritch Horror – At the Altar of Death (Independent) [Death Metal]
Listen to “A Dream of Pain”

Extinction A.D. – Culture of Violence (Unique Leader) [Thrash]

Facing Fear – Marginal Metal (Independent) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “We Will Arrive”

Final Cry – The Ever-Rest (MDD Records) [Melodeath]
Listen to “The Ever-Rest”

Frostmoon Eclipse – Rustworn (Immortal Frost Productions) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Rustworn”

Fury – Born to Sin (Independent) [Thrash]
Listen to “Born to Sin”

Gauntlet Rule – The Plague Court (Target Group) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Dying For My Dreams”

Gloson – The Rift (Indie Recordings) [Sludge/Post-Metal]

Grave Noise – Roots of Damnation (Art Gates Records) [Thrash]

Hellbore – Panopticon (Independent) [Tech Death]

Kimaera – Imperivm (Independent) [Symphonic Death/Doom]
Listen to “The Ides of March”

Knight & Gallow – For Honor and Bloodshed (No Remorse Records) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Soul of Cinder”

Manigance – Le bal des ombres (Verycords) [Power Metal]
Listen to “Le Bal Des Ombres”

Moonlight Haze – Animus (Scarlet Records) [Symphonic Metal]
Listen to “Animus,” “It’s Insane”

Night Crowned – Rebirth of the Old (Noble Demon) [Black/Death Metal]

Playgrounded – The Death of Death (Pelagic Records) [Prog/Post-Metal]

Powergame – Slaying Gods (Iron Shield Records) [Power Metal]

Sequestered Keep – Sorcerous Steel (Out of Season) [Medieval Ambient]

Shining Black – Postcards from the End of the World (Frontiers Music) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Postcards from the End of the World”

Slægt – Goddess (Century Media) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Fealty, Thunder Whip”

Starer – The What It Is to Be (Onism Productions) [Black Metal]
Listen to “Fire of the Son”

Steelballs – The Neverending Fire (Witches Brew) [Heavy Metal]

Uncle Woe – Pennyfold Haberdashery & Abattoir Deluxe (Independent) [Stoner Doom]

White Tang – Kodou -鼓動- (Timeless Symphony) [Heavy/Power Metal]
Listen to “Yamatsumi”

Without Waves – Comedian (Prosthetic Records) [Weird Proggy Metalcore]
Listen to “Good Grief”

Zeke Deux – Awake~From the Darkness~ (Starwave Records) [Power Metal]
Listen to “Awake ~ From the Darkness~”

Zwaard – Bloed en wijn (Argento Records) [Black Metal]
Listen to “I”

Did we forget a new release? Is there a way we could improve this list? Let us know in the comments!

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!