This Toilet Tuesday (6/6/23)


O highest ashen throne, receive our offerings on this blessèd day. This week, the ever-promiscuous metal of death stuck its hooks in myriad subgenres, a band was necromanced after nearly a quarter century, and ancient machines continued their mechanized march. Last one in nos nothing of flush music!

Kaksonen – Universumin kuningas (Independent) [Prog Death]

Kaksonen’s sophomore LP (and first release in 12 years) is a strange beast—equal parts groovy death metal, folksy, anthemic choruses, and blackened shrieks that occasionally channel hip-hop’s terse vocal cadence (see “Vihasta tehty”). Universumin kuningas is an album with few bells and whistles as far as production and auxiliary instrumentation goes; instead, the progressive element stems from its clever arrangements that keep listeners on unstable ground throughout. Such a bizarre concoction could only come from the mystical (some would say fictional) land of Finland! -Roldy

All Life Ends – Miscreation (Black Sunset) [Death]

Aodon – Portraits (Willowtip Records) [Blackened Death]

Appalachian Winter – Wintermountains Rise (Nine Gates Records) [Symphonic Black]

Art Nation – Inception (Frontiers Records) [Symphonic Power]

Avarice – S/T (Target Group) [Deathrash]

Black Rainbows – Superskull (Heavy Psych Sounds Records) [Psych/Stoner Doom]

Blackfire – The Enourmous Wrath (Black Label Production) [Blackened Death]

Blemish – Omnipresence (Frozen Screams Imprint) [Deathgrind]

Burial Hordes – Ruins (Transcending Obscurity Records) [Blackened Death]

Carrion – Binary Communication (Independent) [Death]

Cavern Deep – Part II – Breach (Interstellar Smoke Records) [Doom]

Conjuring – Vis Naturae (Kernkraftritter Records) [Black]

Cryptic Dissolution/Gravepeeler – Split (Night Terrors Records) [Death]

Dead Quiet – IV (Independent) [Heavy / Prog Rock]

Desecrate – Lights of Contradiction (Sleaszy Rider Records) [Melodeath]

Dioivo – Cara os Ceios Incrementes (Sleaszy Rider Records) [Sludge / Black]

Ekrom – Uten N​å​digst Formildelse (Edged Circle Productions) [Symphonic Black]

Elvenpath – Faith Through the Fire (El Puerto Records) [Power]

Eremit – Wearer of Numerous Forms (Fucking Kill Records) [Death/Doom]

Evil In – Age of Immortal Darkness (Independent) [Deathrash]

Exnun – Nutshell Studies of Unexplained Death (Time to Kill Records) [Deathgrind]

Glass Casket – S/T (Silent Pendulum Records) [Metalcore / Tech Death]

Godflesh – Purge (Avalanche Recordings) [Industrial]

Halls of Oblivion – Eighteen Hundred And Froze To Death (Metalapolis Records) [Melodic Black]

Imperishable – Come, Sweet Death (Hammerheart Records) [Death]

Isvara – XXV: Cerebrospinal Fluid (Independent) [Experimental Black]

Jesus Chrüsler Supercar – Rising (Vön Hell Records) [Hard Rock / Doom]

Kill Division – Thoughts and Prayers (Redefining Darkness Records) [Death]

Legion of Decadence – Swing It By (Independent) [Heavy]

Legion of the Damned – The Poison Chalice (Napalm Records) [Deathrash]

Masqued – When Demons Call (Sleaszy Rider Records) [Symphonic Heavy]

Merzotna Potvora – Mertvyj Š​​​č​​​ur (Surrogate Rec.) [Blackthrash]

Miasmes – R​é​pugnance (Les Acteurs de L’Ombre Productions) [Black]

Misty Grey – Visions After Void (Topillo Records) [Doom]

Naglefaroth – Unconscious Entities (Independent) [Death]

Nerraka – Conquerors Ov The Nusantara (Independent) [Blackened Death]

Passéisme – Alternance (Antiq Records) [Melodic Black]

Pile of Death – Introducing Our Impending Doom (Jawbreaker Records) [Death]

Pyrexia – System of the Animal (Unique Leader Records) [Slam / Brutal Death]

Rise to Fall – The Fifth Dimension (Noble Demon) [Symphonic Melodeath / Metalcore]

Scar Symmetry – The Singularity (Phase II: Xenotaph) (Nuclear Blast) [Symphonic Melodeath]

Slow Fall – Obsidian Waves (Out of Line Music) [Melodeath]

Snogard – I. Apocalypsi (Cursed Oath Records) [Blackened Death]

Solothus/Temple of Void – The Harrowing / Of Flesh & Bones (Split) (Redefining Darkness Records) [Death]

Sviatibor – Primal Flame Inheritance (Flowing Downward) [Symphonic Black]

Takacs – Deadfall (Independent) [Crossover Thrash]

The Arcane Order – Distortions from Cosmogony (Black Line Records) [Blackened Death]

The Bleeding – Monokrator (Redefining Darkness Records) [Deathrash]

The Donner Party – Cutting Class (Independent) [Crossover Thrash]

Tony Tears – Pains (BloodRock Records) [Doom / Ambient]

Torture Rack – Primeval Onslaught (20 Buck Spin) [Death]

Trom – Liber Mud (Masked Dead Records) [Death]

Vasculitis – Masochistic Intestinal Eruption (Realityfade Records) [Brutal Death / Slam]

Vlad’s Fortress – The Silence (Independent) [Black]

Voidhaven – Lithic (Ardua Music) [Funeral Doom]

Vortex – The Future Remains in Oblivion (PRC Music) [Symphonic Blackened Death]

Worm Altar – Astral Scourge (Gurgling Gore) [Death/Doom]

Zorya – Mystic Lament (Independent) [Post-Black]

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!