Premiere: Stream The Colour Of Death with Esoctrilihum‘s ‘Thritônh’


“Tradition is just peer-pressure from dead people”
– some meme I saw once (probably)

When Luciano from I, Voidhanger Records sent a message on the weekend to see if I’d be interested in premiering a cut from the upcoming Esoctrilihum album, he remarked it had become somewhat of a tradition for me to introduce new material from the singular artist to the world. And while nothing makes me feel more inadequate (and inarticulate) than having to try and encapsulate some of the most esoteric metal being created in a blurb for a toilet-themed website, I do feel that perhaps it wouldn’t matter who attempted this task; there’s only so much meaning mere words can convey. And then there are some words themselves, which to my uncultured eyes, convey no immediate meaning of their own. I mean look at this tracklisting:

1. Orthal
2. Exh-Enî Söph (1st Passage: Exiled From Sanity)
3. Thritônh (2nd Passage: The Colour Of Death)
4. Aylowenn Aela (3rd Passage: The Undying Citadel)
5. Shtg (4th Passage: Frozen Soul)
6. Amenthlys (5th Passage: Through The Yth-Whtu Seal)
7. Shayr-Thàs (6th Passage: Walk The Oracular Way)
8. Namhera (7th Passage: Blasphemy Of Ephereàs)
9. Eternity Of Shaog (∞th Passage: Grave of Agony)
10. Monotony Of A Putrid Life In The Eternal Nothingness

Maybe you know what a Thritônh refers to? I sure as fuck don’t. But I guess that’s part of the allure of Esoctrilihum. Creating music this unique almost certainly requires abstruse concepts to function as inspiration. And the artist behind the sound (Asthâghul) is seemingly in no danger of running out of inspiration. Upon premiering a track from the last Esoctrilihum offering (The Telluric Ashes of the Ö Vrth Immemorial Gods) I remarked at being not only floored at how one person can possibly create such a high quantity of content so quickly, but more that the quality of the art on offer is absolutely astonishing. The Eternity Of Shaog marks the fifth full-length album in the span of less than 3 years. Absolutely inhüman.

Now I’ve been fortunate enough to spin the upcoming album a couple times over the past few weeks and I can comfortably say it is in keeping with the otherworldly origins of the previous material. If you’re familiar with the existing albums you’ll know that there can be more diversity within an Esoctrilihum album (let alone the rapidly expanding discography) than there typically is within some entire back catalogues of other black metal of its ilk. For instance, take the associated acts of Nightbringer, Bestia Arcana, Aoratos, and Akhlys; all these bands are individual entities but I’d say without hesitation that a lot of their material could be directly interchangeable without affecting the overall sound of a record. I honestly think this would pose a difficult task across a single Esoctrilihum album, let alone across releases. Don’t think of this as a brazen attempt at throwing shade on other artists, more as an example of how singular Asthâghul’s work has become.

Now before I ramble anymore, it’s time to hit play and get horn’d up in the arcane netherrealm.

Pre-order The Eternity Of Shaog ready for the 22nd of May release date
Physical Copy (2x Gatefold LP or A5 Digipack CD | Digital Copy

If today’s premiere cut wasn’t suffice for you to hit pre-order here’s the other track currently available for you to reconsider that perhaps your ears are, in fact, extremely stupid.

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!