This Toilet Tuesday (3/7/23)


Toilet Tuesday comes around once more. Nothing clever to say here, just a pile of new albums (and lots of good ones, too). Check that list and share what you’re looking forward to releasing this week.

Frozen Crown – Call of the North (Scarlet Records) [Power Metal]

Frozen Crown has been releasing new material at a pretty steady clip since their debut in 2018, slowly but consistently improving on their already-solid formula. Call of the North is their fourth album and, as can be easily surmised from the preceding, arguably their tightest. There’s a wide breadth of influences present in the music: obvious comparisons to Dragonforce and Rhapsody of Fire can be drawn with their levels of speed and lightheartedness, but there are also hints of more riff-orient acts present as well such as Stratovarius and Dragonland. Could just be me, but I feel like there’s a tiny bit of Blind Guardian melodic sensibilities in some of the leads, and that’s never a bad thing. The band strikes a good balance of power metal cheese and competent no-nonsense composition, and this is a good time all around. 3/10/23 (Spear)

Abhcan – Build & Break (Wild Wave Records) [Heavy/Power Metal]

As Light Dies – The Laniakea Architecture – Volume II (Darkwoods) [Gothic Death/Doom]

Asphagor – Pyrogenesis (MDD Records) [Blackened Death Metal]

Astriferous – Pulsations from the Black Orb (Pulverised Records) [Death Metal]

Bastard Grave – Vortex of Disgust (Pulverised Records) [Death Metal]

Blind Oath – Blind Oath (Independent) [Heavy/Speed Metal]

Brundarkh – Those Born of Fire & Shadow (Independent) [Symphonic Melodeath]

Burden of Ymir – Heorot (Flowing Downward) [Black Metal]

Cripta Blue – Rather with the Devil (Independent) [Stoner Doom]

Damage SFP – Punished by the System (Samsara Records) [Thrash]

De Arma – Synthwave Sessions Vol. 1 (Silent Future Recordings) [Synthwave]

Depraved Murder – Unethical Terrestrial Collapse (Comatose Music) [Brutal Death Metal]

Demon King – Vesania (The Artisan Era) [Tech Death]

Dirge – Dirge (Independent) [Sludge/Doom]

Discordant Meditation – Interface (Reaping Scythe Records) [Death Metal]

Dissentient – Labyrinth (Independent) [Djent/Deathcore]

Duthaig – Hiraeth (Independent) [Black Metal]

Exelerate – Exelerate (From the Vaults) [Thrash]

Fange – Privation (Throatruiner Records) [Industrial/Sludge/Death Metal]

Fluisteraars – De Kronieken van het Verdwenen Kasteel – I – Harslo (Eisenwald) [Atmospheric Black Metal]

Goat Explosion – Threatening Skies (Into Endless Chaos Records) [Heavy Metal]

God Disease – Apocalyptic Doom (Gruesome Records) [Death Doom]

Gokurako Jodo – Minna no Kokugo (Independent) [Heavy Metal]

Gorod – The Orb (Independent) [Prog/Tech Death]

Guillotine – Wrongful Death (Independent) [Death Metal/Hardcore]

Håndgemeng – Ultraritual (Ripple Music) [Stoner Doom]

Haunted Gods – Haunted Gods (Independent) [Power Metal]

The Human Race Is Filth – Cognitive Dissonance (Independent) [Sludgy Deathgrind]

Ice Age – Waves of Loss and Power (Sensory Records) [Prog Metal]

Ignominy – Imminent Collapse (Transcending Obscurity) [Dissonant Death Metal]

Isole – Anesidora (Hammerheart Records) [Doom]

Judas Iscariotes – Loaded to Kill​.​.​. (Independent) [Thrash]

Judiciary – Flesh + Blood (Closed Casket Activities) [Hardcore]

Killers Legion – Aggressive Discipline (Independent) [Thrash]

Killing Capacity – Shattered Souls (Independent) [Deathgrind]

Legado de una Tragedia – Aquelarre de sombras (Art Gates Records) [Power Metal]

Livin’ Evil – Prayers and Torments (Independent) [Heavy Metal]

Lum – LUNARIA – I racconti del falò (Nigredo Productions) [Flute Black Metal]

Mannaia – The Unnecessary Tape (Independent) [Crust/Hardcore]

Mass Crysis – Imposing Truck (The Goatmancer Records) [Thrash]

Metuzalem – Infra (Independent) [Death Doom]

Muerto en Vida – El pacto (Violence in the Vein Records) [Groove Metal/core]

Nakkiga/Arde – Split (Darkwoods) [Black Metal]

Nepenthes – Grand Guignol (Daymare Recordings) [Stoner Doom]

Odinfist – Remade in Steel (Independent) [Heavy/Speed Metal]

One Mellow – A Imperial Palace (Independent) [Melodeath]

Prediction – The Unholy Flame (Doomentia Records) [Blackened Thrash]

Qwälen –  Syvä hiljaisuus (Time To Kill Records) [Black Metal]

Rezn – Solace (Independent) [Stoner Doom]

Santo Rostro – Despu​é​s No Habrá Nada (Discos Macarras) [Noise Rock/Doom]

Shrouded in Darkness – Be None of You (Kvlt and Kaos Productions) [Death Doom]

Sönambula – Estasis interrumpida (Xtreem Music) [Death Metal]

Straight Hate – Slaves of Falseness (Selfmadegod Records) [Deathgrind]

Trauma Sounds – Elements Conducive to Unassailable Heartbreak (Independent) [Drone/Blackgaze]

Tribe of Pazuzu – Blasphemous Prophecies (Independent) [Blackened Death Metal]

Unto the Wolves – Chapter IV: Covered in Ash (Independent) [Melodeath]

Weight of Emptiness – Withered Paradogma (Sliptrick Records) [Melodeath]

Whipworm – Gozer (Independent) [Death Thrash]

Winter’s Breath – Stories Left Behind (Running Wild Productions) [Melodic Black Metal]

Did we forget a new release? Is there a way we could improve this list? Let us know in the comments!

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!