This Toilet Tuesday (10/3/17)


The spoopiest month of the year is upon us, and you know what that means; fat, bloated Toilet Tuesdays that are gorged to the point of bursting. For its part, this week squeezed out a few solid nuggets in its sputtering spray of musical diarrhea, making cleanup that much easier. Bert Banana and I tried to clean and disinfect some of the things it passed, but it doesn’t seem to have worked, because they’re still filthy and disgusting. Take a look at those, then help us try to find any chunks we missed. Seriously, it got everywhere.

Dawn Ray’d – The Unlawful Assembly (Halo of Flies/Prosthetic) [Black Metal]

I don’t generally pay much attention to lyrics in black metal, but this one had me absorbed the whole way through. The Unlawful Assembly is a politically charged call to action to stand up in the face of bigotry and injustice, eloquent, but not flowery or overburdened with the abstract. If you’re just in it for the riffs, Dawn Ray’d deliver on that front as well. The music is equal parts savage and beautiful, serving up heaps of blastbeats and complementing them with quieter, clean guitar- and string-driven sections. If anti-fascist black metal with a warm, powerful sound is your jam, then look no further. 10/2/17 (Spear)

Primitive Man – Caustic (Relapse Records) [Sludge/Doom/Noise]

This album is melting my brain, crushing every bone in my body and has me trapped in an endless void of despair.

It’s a goddamn masterpiece. 10/6/17 (BertBanana)

Bloodmoon/Trapped Within Burning Machinery – Bloodmoon/Trapped Within Burning Machinery (split- Midnite Collective/Black Voodoo) [Sludge/Doom]

Just in case you were feeling a little too happy this morning/afternoon/evening, Bloodmoon and Trapped Within Burning Machinery are here to bring you right the fuck back down with a pair of mammoth sludgy doom tracks. Bloodmoon’s side, “Nothing Is Special, Nobody Cares,” is the more dynamic of the two. It kicks things off with a dissonant, mid-paced swampy riff mired in thick distortion, eventually slowing to a dreadful crawl before abruptly swapping the grit for heartfelt clean melodies. It picks back up as it draws to a conclusion, going out on a brief, speedy solo that starkly contrasts Trapped Within Burning Machinery’s followup. “Abysswalker” is a mournful dirge with droning chants and monstrous growls, truly befitting its Dark Souls-inspired subject matter. The last three minutes of the song bring an increase in tempo and a beautiful, eloquent guitar solo that wraps everything up. I don’t normally go for slow metal, so it says something that this was able not only to keep my attention, but keep me engaged and emotionally hooked throughout. Don’t skip this one. 10/1/17 (Spear)

Abduction – Respiratory Prison (Blackwood Gathering) [Black Metal]

Anger Cell – Bravery in Chaos (Independent) [Melodeath]
Listen to “Phantom Pain”

Antarktis – Ildlaante (Agonia Records) [Post Metal]
Listen to “Svalbard”, “Notes from Underground”

Arkhon Infaustus – Passing The Nekromanteion (Les Acteurs de L’Ombre Productions) [Black/Death Metal]
Listen to “The Precipice Where Souls Slither”

Ashen Epitaph – The Formed Filth Enigma (Grom Records) [Death Metal]
Listen to “Stench of Life, Weight of Mind”

Baldrs Draumar – Fan Fryslâns Ferline (Independent) [Folk Metal]

Ben Blutzukker – Riptide (Independent) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Riptide”

The Black Dahlia Murder – Nightbringers (Metal Blade Records) [Melodeath]
Listen to “Nightbringers,” “Matriarch”

Bloody Alchemy – Kingdom of Hatred (Independent) [Death Thrash]
Listen to “The Fight”

Burial Ground – Hungry Zombies (Independent) [Thrash/Speed Metal]

Casket – Unearthed (Independent) [Death Metal]

Cepheide – Saudade (Independent) [Black Metal]
Listen t o”III. La Lutte et l’Harmonie”

Corruption – Spleen (Metal Mind Productions) [Stoner Doom]
Listen to “Hatred”

Crackhouse – Be No One. Be Nothing (Argonauta Records) [Sludge]
Listen to “Harva”

Ctulu – Cultus in Tenebris (Static Tension) [Black Metal]

Damnation Defaced – Invader From Beyond (Apostasy Records) [Melodeath]
Listen to “Invader From Beyond”

Dark Waters End – Submersion (Independent) [Progressive Death Metal]
Listen to “Immortal Consciousness,” “Congenital Vice,” “Up The Dose”

Defenestration – Defenestration (Independent) [Death Metal]

Dehydrated – Resurrection (Immortal Souls Productions) [Death Metal]

Elder Druid – Carmina Satanae (Independent) [Sludge/Doom]

Elliott’s Keep – Lacrimae Mundi (Independent) [Doom]

Empirine – Eld (Independent) [Melodeath]

Fireball Ministry – Remember the Story (Cleopatra Records) [Stoner Doom]
Listen to “The Answer”

Funeral Process – Primordial Circle of a Black Clergy (Independent) [Black Metal]

Gravity – Noir (Apathia Records) [Metalcore]

Haemorrhage – We Are the Gore (Relapse Records) [Deathgrind]

Infitar – Rotation of the Sun (Limited Blasting Production) [Death Metal]

Inverted Serenity – As Spectres Wither (Independent) [Progressive Death Metal]

Iris Divine – The Static and the Noise (Independent) [Prog Metal]
Listen to “Fractures”

Isle of Avalon – Of Tulgey Wood and the Table Rounde (Independent) [Folk/Power Metal]

Jerry Vayne – Blackmoon Asylum (Independent) [Instrumental Prog]

Kadaverdisciplin – Death Supremacy (Hammerheart Records) [Black Metal]

Lento – Fourth (ConSouling Sounds) [Sludge/Post-Metal]

Malchus – Ur (Nasz Sklep) [Progressive Melodeath]
Listen to “Nieproprawny”

Methodical Perversion – No Offense (Independent) [Goregrind]

Napalm Ted – Coffin Liquor (Independent) [Death Metal/Punk]

Nesseria – Cette érosion de nous-mêmes (Throatruiner Records) [Crust/Black Metal]

Ningen Isu – 異次元からの咆哮 (Tokuma Japan Communications) [Prog/Heavy Metal]
Listen to “虚無の声”

No Point in Living – The Autumn (Independent) [DSBM]

Nordlumo – Embraced by Eternal Night (Endless Winter) [Death/Doom]

Omotai – A Ruined Oak (Tofu Carnage Records) [Sludge]

Osculum Infame – Eras Abissais (Necro Terrorist Org) [War Metal]
Listen to “Congregação Bestial”

Ósserp – Al meu pas s’alça la mort (Hecatombe Records) [Death Metal]
Listen to “Jo no ploro els màrtirs”

Pänzer – Fatal Command (Nuclear Blast Records) [Heavy Metal/Thrash]
Listen to “Fatal Command”

Perihelion Ship – To Paint a Bird of Fire (Independent) [Prog Metal]

Raventale – Planetarium (Ashen Dominion) [Black/Doom]
Listen to “New World Planetarium”

Redemptus/Basalt – Atlântico (split- Independent) [Sludge/Post-Metal]
Listen to “A Lot of Times, Later Never Comes”

Redsky – Oblivion Black (Independent) [Djenty Death Metal]
Listen to “Oblivion Black”

Ruins of the Past – Ruins of the Past (Independent) [Death/Doom]

Skineater – Cerebral Relics (Independent) [Death Metal]

Speed Limit – Anywhere We Dare (Pure Rock Records) [Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Anywhere We Dare”

Spirit Adrift – Curse of Conception (20 Buck Spin) [Doom]

Suffer in Paradise – Ephemere (Endless Winter) [Death/Doom]

Tartarus Depth – Hieroctonia (Independent) [Black Metal]

Ter Ziele – There Is No Useless Pain (Independent) [DSBM]

Tierra Santa – Quinto elemento (Maldito Records) [Power Metal]

Verminous Mind – Dusk of Humanity (Independent) [Death Metal]
Listen to “Hereafter Sadism Reaper”

Volcana – Goddess of Flame (Independent) [Doom/Heavy Metal]
Listen to “Scolopendra (Come Forward)”

Wheelfall – The Atrocity Reports (Apathia Records) [Sludge]

Did we forget a new release? Is there a way we could improve this list? Let us know in the comments below!

(Images VIA, VIA, VIA)

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!