This Toilet Whateverday (10/12/23)


O soiled savior, summon mine sewage, for the WC indeed is willing, but the sphincter is weak. This time around we’ve got a trad chad split, sentient winter garb black metal, and got a stroke from the moon. Such a benT H I C C abyss hasn’t been seen for many moons, so you might want to make a stop at Woods Hole to jailbreak Alvin before heading down!

Amongst the Ashes – Breaking Decency (Inverse Records) [Symphonic Melodeath]

The only truly indecent part of this release is the criminally short run-time of ~12 minutes. Amongst the Ashes marries traditional Gothenburg melodeath to the mechanical grooves and virtuosic shredding of modern bands like Gojira and Truent—a deadly combination, especially for cervical vertebrae. Light symphonic elements appear throughout the EP, and while I’m not usually a fan, they’re put to good use here, emphasizing riffs without suffocating the compositions. From flamenco guitar and cello interludes to choir-backed C H U G Gz, there are a lot of moving pieces in this EP, but they work together as a cohesive whole. I’m looking forward to more from this young band, and can’t wait to see what they can do on a full LP! -Roldy

A Man Named Onigumo – Consigned to Oblivion (Independent) [Brutal Death / Slam]

A Mourning Star – A Reminder Of The Wound Unhealed (Daze) [Melodeath / Metalcore]

A Sea of Silent Skulls – Eclipse of Fear, Rise of Power (Independent) [Post-Metal]

A.C.T.S – Christianis Mortem (Masters of Kaos Productions) [Raw/Lo-Fi Black]

Acid Blade – Shooting Star (Jawbreaker Records) [Heavy Metal]

Akouphenom – Death​·​Chaos​·​Void (Avantgarde Music) [Blackened Death]

Allgema – Find The Way Out (Independent) [Groove Metal]

Angel of Damnation/Wartime – Split (Rotten Leather Prods.) [Doom]

Anker – Lurperatutako istorioak (Independent) [Melodeath / Thrash]

Anxium – Rosicrucianism (Schattenkult Produktionen) [Raw/Lo-Fi Black]

As the Sun Falls – Where The Silence Reigns (Independent) [Melodeath]

Asgrauw/Duindwaler/Hellevaerder/Schavot – Verloren vertellingen (Zwaertgevegt) [Black]

Bladespell – S/T (Independent) [Dungeon Synth / Melodeath]

Blessed Curse – Pray for Armageddon (M-Theory Audio) [Deathrash]

Body Void – Atrocity Machine (Prosthetic Records) [Doom / Sludge / Industrial]

Buzuluk – Döden från skogen (Independent) [Black]

Century/Tyrann – Split (Electric Assault Records) [Trad/Heavy Metal]

Certain Death – Relentless Assault (Independent) [Deathrash]

Chiasmus – Thaumetallurgy (Independent) [Raw/Lo-Fi Blackened Death]

Choronzon – An End Without End (Panicmachine) [Industrial Metal / Avant-garde / Ambient]

Comaniac – None For All (Metalworld) [Thrash]

Corrosive – Wrath Of The Witch (Independent) [Melodeath]

Crisix – Still Rising… Never Rest (Independent) [Thrash]

Crowley – Friday (Dropout Music Entertainment) [Heavy Metal]

Dead and Dripping/Prophecy of Suffering – Catharsis Of Silent Despondency (Lord Of The Sick Recordings) [Death]

Deadlife – When the rain came (Independent) [DSBM]

Décembre Noir – Your Sunset | My Sunrise (Lifeforce Records) [Melodeath]

Desolate Sphere – Maledictus (Independent) [Melodeath]

Droid Killer – The Terminator vs. The Preacher (Black Halo Records) [Death/Doom]

Edge of Forever – Ritual (Frontiers Records) [Symphonic Power]

Electrocutioner – False Idols (Independent) [Deathrash]

Elohims Sterne – Erzengel (Independent) [Industrial Metal]

Empty Skull – Year Zero (Independent) [Blackened Death / Hardcore]

Enemynside – Medusa – XX Legacy Edition (Blood Fire Death) [Thrash]

Eye of Horus – Noxium (Independent) [Melodeath]

Feral Mittens – The Lost Walks Among Us (Independent) [Raw/Lo-Fi Black]

Fleshworks – Diabolus Ex Machina (Apostasy Records) [Death]

Fortíð – Narkissos (Lupus Lounge) [Meloblack / Folk Metal]

Fortress Under Siege – Envy (Rock of Angels Records) [Power / Heavy Metal]

Furia – Huta Luna (Pagan Records) [Black]

Gévaudan – Umbra (Meuse Music Records) [Doom]

Goremantle – In The Silence (Independent) [Lo-Fi Blackened Death / Doom]

Gravestone – Hollow Be Thy Grave (Raw Skull Recordz) [Death]

Haadeen – Ikuisuudessa (Independent) [Raw/Lo-Fi Black]

Hegeroth – Disintegration (Independent) [Blackened Death]

Heretical Doctrines – Destructive Heresies (Independent) [War Metal / Noise]

Human Prey – Tombs of the Blind Dead (Independent) [Brutal Death / Deathcore]

Icepick Intestine Dismember/R​ö​cheln – Split (Kowskull Records) [Death / Goregrind]

Infestation – The Vermin Within (Independent) [Deathrash]

Jonathan Young – Children Of Night (Judge & Jury) [Symphonic Heavy Metal / Groove Metal]

Karmic Debt – WW3 (Independent) [Crossover Thrash / Punk]

Kaunis Kuolematon – Mielenvalta (Noble Demon) [Blackened Death/Doom]

Koudeta – S/T (Independent) [Alt Metal]

Krieg – Ruiner (Profound Lore Records) [Black]

Kryss – Reflections of Nature (Independent) [Atmoblack]

Laster – Andermans Mijne (Prophecy Productions) [Post-Black]

Malformed – The Gathering of Souls (Extremely Rotten Productions) [Death]

Mors Subita – Origin of Fire (Out of Line Music) [Death / Groove Metal]

Mortuary – Sublime the Decline (Adipocere Records) [Death]

Najezda – Eternal Be the Dark (Independent) [Black]

Nightwölf – The Cult of the Wolf (Independent) [Thrash]

Overthrow – Ascension Of The Entombed (Redefining Darkness Records) [Blackened Death]

Persecutor – Vendetta (Independent) [Thrash / Melodeath]

Powerstorm – Act II (Independent) [Heavy Metal]

Razorvoid – Terror In Time (Mercenary Press) [Blackthrash]

Rough Touch – Sanctify Darkness (World’s Appreciated Kitsch Records) [Crossover Thrash]

Sadistic Force – Midnight Assassin (Goat Throne Records) [Blackthrash]

Sankaku – Sumi Gaeshi (Independent) [Black]

Selenoplexia – Exalt and Despair (Independent) [Blackened Death]

Seraphic Entombment – Sickness Particles Gleam (Everlasting Spew Records) [Death/Doom]

Sommo Inquisitore – Aerarius Faber Artifex (Independent) [Heavy Metal]

Sorathian Dawn – Radiant Terror (Independent) [Melodic Blackened Death]

Spinne – The Shimmer (Independent) [Thrash]

Splicer – Beer-P (Independent) [Thrash]

State of Deceit – Stalked by Daemons (Eclipse Records) [Death / Groove Metal]

Stortregn – Finitude (The Artisan Era) [Melodic Blackened Death / Tech Death]

Submundo – Perante os Olhos da Serpente (Satanic Hellbangers Records) [Death]

Sucking Leech – Errordynamic (Rebirth the Metal Productions) [Grindcore]

Sulphur Aeon – Seven Crowns and Seven Seals (Ván Records) [Blackened Death]

Tardigrade Inferno – Burn the Circus (Independent) [Avant-garde Metal]

Tausendstern – Der Leuchtturm (Sumarbrander) [Melodic Blackened Death]

Terreur Nocturne – Solitude Post​-​Mortem (M.U.S.I.C. Records) [Meloblack]

The Answer Lies in the Black Void – Thou Shalt (Roadburn Records) [Doom]

The Holy Hater – Stellar Genesis (Independent) [Melodeath]

The Lion’s Daughter – Bath House (Independent) [Proggy Sludge]

The Voynich Code – Insomnia (Unique Leader Records) [Tech Deathcore]

Theocracy – Mosaic (Atomic Fire Records) [Power / Heavy Metal]

Under the Scythe – Realms of the Void (Soundage Productions) [Death]

Ural – Psychoverse (Xtreem Music) [Crossover Thrash]

Varg – Ewige Wacht (Napalm Records) [Melodeath / Folk Metal]

Voidescent – Dust and Embers (Avantgarde Music) [Blackened Death]

Yellow Goat – Viking and Satan (Goat Records) [Black]

Ynkleudherhenavogyon – Honan Bleydh II (Inverse Solar Reqvriem) [Black / Dungeon Synth]

Did you dig this? Take a second to support Toilet ov Hell on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!